The Portland Phoenix

Greater Portland legislative races feature familiar faces

Political signs

A smattering of political signs surrounds the Eastern Promenade's Cleeves and Tucker Memorial statue. (Portland Phoenix/Colin Ellis)

With several legislative seats being contested this fall, Portland voters will see more names than usual for the statewide elections. The district map will look considerably different for this election, following a reconfiguration after the 2020 census.

Senate District 27

Democrat Jill Duson, a former Portland city councilor, takes on Republican Jeffrey Tounge for the seat held by Democratic Sen. Heather Sanborn, who is not seeking reelection. The seat covers part of Portland – including Stroudwater, Libbytown, Nason’s Corner and North Deering – and Westbrook.

Senate District 28

Incumbent Democratic Sen. Ben Chipman is vying for reelection against Republican challenger Susan Abercrombie. Chipman, who currently serves District 27, was elected in 2016 after serving six years in the Maine House of Representatives. Abercrombie, who has previously run for the Maine House of Representatives, is a former IT professional. District 28 covers East Deering, the University of Southern Maine neighborhood and the Portland peninsula.

House District 112

Rep. Ed Crockett, a Democrat, is seeking reelection against Republican challenger Tammy Ryan. Crockett, who was elected in 2018, is the president of Captain Eli’s Soda. He served when the district formerly was District 43. Ryan is a Portland representative to the Cumberland County Republican Committee and is a realtor. District 112 covers North Deering.

House District 113

Democrat Grayson Lookner is running unopposed in his reelection bid. District 113 covers the Portland Peninsula, East Deering and the University of Southern Maine neighborhoods.

House District 114

Rep. Benjamin Collings, a Democrat, is running unopposed. While Republican Daniel Merrill won his party’s primary, he will not appear on the general election ballot. District 114 covers parts of East Deering.

House District 115

Incumbent Rep. Michael Brennan, a Democrat, is unopposed in his reelection bid. Brennan returned to the Legislature in 2018 after serving one term as Portland’s mayor. He served four terms in the Maine House and three in the Maine Senate, and he currently serves District 36. District 115 covers parts of Deering Center, Oakdale, Back Cover and Morrill’s Corner. Republican Andrew Mahaleris advanced from his party’s primary, but will not appear on the general election ballot. 

House District 116

Incumbent Democratic Rep. Samuel Zager is seeking reelection against Republican challenger Dale Holeman. Zager, who was elected to the seat when it was District 41 in 2020, is a doctor at Martin’s Point Health Care and previously served in the U.S. Navy. Holeman is a real estate broker. District 116 covers parts of Deering Center, Deering Highlands, Woodford’s Corner, Rosemont, Libbytown, Westgate and Stroudwater.

House District 117

Former Rep. Matthew Moonen, a Democrat and the former executive director of Equality Maine, is running unopposed. Moonen formerly served as a representative for House District 38, and served as the majority leader of the House before being term-limited in 2020. He unsuccessfully ran for Secretary of State in 2020. District 117 covers parts of the West End, St. John Valley and Libbytown.

House District 118

Democratic Rep. Rachel Talbot Ross is running unopposed. She is the assistant majority leader for the House and was elected in 2016. District 118 covers Parkside, parts of downtown and parts of East Bayside.

House District 119 

Democrat Charles Skold and Republican Peter Doyle are seeking the seat currently held by Democratic Rep. Mike Sylvester, who isn’t seeking reelection. The district is one of many reconfigured from the 2020 census. Skold, the former chair of the Portland Democratic City Committee, is a senior trainer at SAB Negotiations. Doyle was the 2016 Republican candidate for District 39, which formerly was a Portland district. He is the current treasurer for the Portland Republican City Committee and their former chair. District 119 covers Munjoy Hill, downtown Portland and the islands incorporated in Portland.

This story has been corrected to reflect that Matt Moonen ran for Secretary of State in 2020, losing to Shenna Bellows.

Exit mobile version